Who is the woman using the ‘built-in bra’?

I have one (actually two) of the Tribesports Performance Singlets, which I got from supporting the Tribesports Kickstater (along with a bunch of other stuff, including tights and a t-shirt and some men’s stuff).  It’s actually great.  It’s soft, it doesn’t rub, it fits really well (I mean really well) and I think it looks cool.  But, here’s the question: who is the woman who is not wearing a sports bra underneath this top, and are there enough of them to justify putting a built-in bra into the singlet?

Now, I know this isn’t a running-specific piece of kit, but surely other sports require breast support, and a built-in bra is never going to give you enough of that.  Unless you’re doing something very gentle/low-impact like (some kinds of) yoga, then you’re going to need more support than this can offer.  So, what’s the point in sewing it in?  Is the point that I have to then very carefully cut it out before I wear the top?  (And, to be fair, I have had to do this with other singlets as well, I don’t want to appear as though I am singling Tribesports out).

image

The excised built-in bra

While I do really like this singlet, had I known originally that it contained a built-in bra I probably wouldn’t have bought it.  I don’t feel annoyed about it (more perplexed), but I would prefer to not have to butcher my clothes before I can wear them (aside from cutting off labels, which I think should be done by all people as a matter of course).

But, do I have the wrong end of the stick?  Should I just suck it up and either continue to cut my clothes up (or not buy clothes that would require it?)  Is anyone actually using the built-in bra?

Leave a Reply

