New You

I’ve run twice along the beach now.  I grew up by the beach, but I wasn’t a runner then.  I am a runner now, and I live no where near the beach.

It’s been beautiful.

2013-09-01 09.56.51

 

(this is obviously not me running along the beach.  This is the Neon Toddler’s first – yes, very first – trip to the beach on Sunday)

I kind of hate the beach, and I have no intention of running along the sand no matter how good it is for me.  I hate sand.  It’s awful.  But, it’s also beautiful – the combination of the sand, the water, the sun glistening off the waves – it’s amazing.  I was worried (as I mentioned in my last post, I think) that I had changed and the place had changed, and that is true but it hasn’t been a problem.  I am a better person than I was when I left, in many respects not just running, so of course it’s okay.

The running has been fine, but my ankle has been giving me some troubles, so I had better watch out for that.  I am feeling okay for the upcoming Royal Parks Ultra and Round Rotherham.  Or am I?  I’m not sure.  25km and 15km this weekend will put me in a better state of mind, I think.

I hope.

Any words of advice or encouragement are very, very welcome!

3 thoughts on “New You

Leave a Reply

