I am not my bipolar

Since writing this post – when I first signed up for the Royal Parks Ultra and decided that I wanted to support Mind – things have changed for me.  I had a mini-break down that saw me sitting in a Samaritans house on a Sunday afternoon.  Monday morning, I got in contact with both my doctor and Mind and, after a few very hard weeks, have been re-diagnosed as type 1 bipolar.  Type 1 is categorised by heavy manic episodes.

When I told my mum about this she wasn’t surprised.  She was relieved.  She told me that the diagnosis explains a lot more than my previous diagnosis had.

I’m not sure what I would have done had I not been able to get in contact with Mind, and use the resources on their website, both before and after my new diagnosis.  I was scared, but now I feel empowered.

I wasn’t my depression.  I am not my bipolar.  Simple.

But, for a lot of people it isn’t that simple.  And that’s why we need to support Mind.  And you can help by sponsoring me here.

MIND logo

Leave a Reply

