How I know that I love what I do.

image

I am sitting in a room at the British Museum. The room containing the sculptures from the Mausoleum of Halikarnassos, to be precise (not the room of my ‘Guess the room’ tweet).
When I come to the BM I pretty much always go to the same two or three places first; the psuche vase:

image

The Harpy Tomb:

image

The white-ground funerary lekythoi, like this one:

image

If I didn’t love what I do, that is, if I didn’t love ancient history and classics, and I didn’t love being an ancient historian, then I wouldn’t be sitting here looking at a giant Greco-Near-Eastern horse.

I am very lucky.

One thought on “How I know that I love what I do.

  1. Sarah F says:

    Like the pics of your favourite things! British Museaum is fab isn’t it. I have no wish to do a PhD (so far over my head) but I love that you’re enjoying what you do so much!! x

Leave a Reply

