The journey home

This post starts here:

image

In the street with a pissed off look on my face. Honestly, I can’t tell you where I am exactly because I’m kind of blindly following the map on my phone.

Now, I set out from home some two and a half hours ago, feeling great and ready to run about 25km.  I had the Nathan hydration pack I picked up at Thunder Run 24 last weekend and I was ready to run the beautiful plains of our very own forest-in-the-city, Richmond Park.

I’m sure you’ve guessed by now that it didn’t quite work out that way, and now here I am dejectedly waiting for the bus (make that on the bus, now…)

So, what went wrong? I wish I could tell you, but I don’t really know. My cardio was fine, and my legs were fine, and my desire to run was fine, but I just couldn’t get it together. I ran just over 12km and never got in a rhythm, and fought with my body the whole way. It was exhausting and no fun.

I suspect that part of the issue is I’m just not running enough. I used to run 4 or 5 days a week, and now I’m spending more time working and less time running. Obviously, my thesis is very important, but I think I need to make more time to look after myself and to run, because it makes me a nicer and calmer person, and because it’s something I love.

So, for now, I’m just going to go home, have a beer, reset and run again tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “The journey home

Leave a Reply

