#allin24: Getting ready for Thunder Run 24.

This weekend is Thunder Run 24 and I am writing a kitlist, after having several dreams in which I forgot several important pieces of kit.  So far I have:

SHOES

  • 2 x Brooks PureConnect2
  • 1 x Nike Structure 15s
  • 1 x flip flops

CLOTHING and RUNNING KIT

  • 1 x comfortable, black dress (for wearing up to and down from the course)
  • 2 x running skirts
  • 1 x short tights
  • 1 x long tights (although: my own long tights will be too hot, even if it’s very cold, because it’s not winter and my long tights are made for snow.  I suspect I will instead take my capri-length track bottoms, or Mr. Neon’s long summer-weight tights.  I haven’t quite decided on this yet.)
  • headlamp plus spare batteries
  • Garmin 310XT, charged
  • 4-5 pairs socks (i.e. as many pairs as I can find and wash)
  • 1 x lightweight hoody, for resting and keeping warm overnight
  • 1 x big hoody, for resting and keeping warm overnight
  • Waterbottle and belt
  • 1 x bed pants or light tracksuit pants, for resting and sleeping
  • Sports bra.  x 2, if possible
  • 3-4 dri-fit singlets or t-shirts
  • Buff and visor/cap

CAMPING

  • tent
  • rubber mallet
  • tent lamp
  • sleeping bag
  • squish down pillow

FOOD

  • gels a-plenty.  Just in case.
  • Clif Shot Blocks.  Just because.
  • 3 x Clif Builder protein bars
  • 3 x Clif bar
  • food?  Perhaps some cold roast potatoes.

OTHER STUFF

  • Walkman
  • Phone, and charger
  • Magazines
  • Thesis reading (I know, boring right?!?)
  • 1 x big towel
  • 1 x foam roller
  • 1 x first aid kit
  • 1 x strapping tape, in case my ankle decides it hates life
  • 1 x toiletries stuff, including soap etc.
  • Medication
  • Bodyglide
  • Alarm Clock

What have I forgotten?  What is total over kill?  What food should I be packing?

4 thoughts on “#allin24: Getting ready for Thunder Run 24.

  1. Sarah F says:

    I always take some thick socks for wearing at night as my feet always get cold when I’m camping. Coffee? I’m taking a stove too so I can boil waterfor the coffee and porridge. Sun cream?

Leave a Reply

