The new-new workout

As you’re all painfully aware at this stage, I’ve signed up to Janathon – a challange where the idea is to work-out every day in January and to blog about it.  It’s a great kick off for the year as one of those ‘begin as you mean to go on’ motivators.

So, my work out today?  Rest.

Yep, that’s right.  I did not work-out.  I didn’t run, I didn’t cross-train, and although I danced around the living room for a while with my 14 month old I personally don’t count that as working-out.

So, why am I counting rest as a work-out (under the rules of Janathon, that is)?  Take a peruse though the Runner’s World article Are You Overtraining.  I am not overtraining, but I know that I have a bit of a habit of getting to a stage where I’m doing too much.  Currently I cross-train once a week and run five days a week.  My body simply needs one day to rest.  I count rest as a work-out for a few simple reasons 1) I’m not resting because I’m lazy, I’m resting because my body requires downtime in order to repair and 2) I want to run a marathon, undertake a 24 hour run (in a team of only three) AND run a 50 miler this year – I can’t afford to take several weeks out because I’ve overtrained.

Knowing when your body needs to rest isn’t weak.  I count it because I don’t think it really contravenes the spirit of Janathon.  So that’s it.  Each Friday during January, as during the rest of 2013, is for rest.  No questions.

4 thoughts on “The new-new workout

    • Neon Anonymous says:

      Yes, I admit that I gave my body a bit of a beating in the past. I’ve also got a husband who – bless him – is more of an undertrainer than an overtrainer so in one way I tried to not make his mistake and ended up making my own!

    • Neon Anonymous says:

      I wish more people understood that rest days should be a proper part of training. As I say (and you as well) resting because you need rest and resting because you’re lazy are totally different things!

Leave a Reply

