This time next year

This time last year I couldn’t run.  That’s the biggest thing that has happened this year without doubt.

The best thing that’s happened this year, though, has been watching my little girl actually become a little girl, rather than a baby.  It’s amazing what a year can do in the life of a little person, how much can actually occur.  It’s been a whirlwind of beautiful craziness!

By this time next year I hope to have run a marathon, done a 24-hour team event and run a 50-miler.  By this time next year I hope to have submitted my PhD and been viva’d.  By this time next year I hope to be on my way to getting an all-elusive research post-doctoral fellowship (but that’s significantly more pie-in-the-sky than everything else!)

I think it says something that 2012 has been the most settled year in a while – how many people with a small child can say that?

Leave a Reply

