Limbo

ImageHow hilarious, given my recent immigration-status related conundrum, that I should get this emergency compliment.  At any rate, I have finally kind of come to terms with the fact that we won’t be having Christmas with our families this year, and now the hope is that we don’t have to pay too much to change our flights to some other time.

But, what other time?!? It can’t be too early in the new year, because we’ll be in the same situation as we are now.  We need to have enough time for my indefinite leave to be granted.  It can’t be April or May – I’m running the Vienna Marathon on April 14th and I don’t want to do the last of my training while away, and I certainly don’t want to run my first marathon jet-lagged.  After the marathon, Mr. Neon’s mum, dad, sister and sister’s partner will be in London, and not long after that my mum will be in London for my 30th birthday.  Which leaves mid-May at the earliest.  Given that I want to submit my PhD thesis on September 30th, I’m not sure I’m going to have the time to go away.  And, if I do, I will be working.

So that’s where we are.  In limbo.

Leave a Reply

