I am not a fashion victim, but I am something.

Fashion victim, so Wikipedia tells me, is a term claimed to have been coined by Oscar de la Renta that is used to identify a person who is unable to identify commonly recognised boundaries of style.  I don’t think that describes me, but I also don’t think that the term fashionable or stylish describes me either.  But, I think I would like to be more stylish.  One of my biggest problems is that I have no idea exactly what I have in my wardrobe and the bits that I do have lack any kind of cohesion.  I always say that I am going to buy base pieces but of course it never happens.  Instead I buy neon pink dresses from H&M.
Because of this, and because of my desire to actually be a little more stylish and because I recently purchased my first pair of skinny jeans, I want to do something about this.
Running has changed the way I feel about myself, and it has changed the way I look.  I have lost weight – I am no where near where I would like to be or where my ideal weight is, but I’m already lighter than my just-pre-pregnancy weight.  I’m only a few months away from turning 30, and I think it’s time to throw away things I have been wearing since I was 15 (yes, it’s sadly true that I have things in my wardrobe that I have been wearing for 15 years and have made the international move with me… ho hum, I am a fashion-something).
The plan, then.  The plan is to  actually go though my wardrobe and document what I have.  And then figure out what needs to go, what should stay, and what needs to be added.  So that’s what’s going to happen this week – so watch out.
Leave a Reply

